SANTA CRUZ SHAKESPEARE 2017 5 bOARD OF DIRECTORS SANTA CRUZ SHAKESPEARE FESTIVAL FOUNDER Welcome to Santa Cruz Shakespeare’s fourth season! Every year brings something new and exciting to SCS. This year we’re pleased to return to a three-play format which includes a co-production with our good friends at CalShakes. For those of you who helped us inaugurate The Grove last summer, you’ll notice that a few donors and some very hard working volunteers have completed improvements that we hope will make your experience here that much more enjoyable. The Grove is still a work in progress and you can look forward to more upgrades in the future. If you have feedback on the space, or would like to contribute, please get in touch. As you sit in this beautiful space, surrounded by family or friends and a community of fellow theater-goers, I invite you to reflect on the experience. More than any other art form, theatre is an interactive medium that creates a conversation between the actors and the audience and so you become part of the production. But what you see and hear – your experience here today – is shaped by other events in your life. Theatre not only entertains but also challenges and provokes and often forces us to explore thoughts and ideas that differ from our own. In this year of change, I hope you will take something away that will shape future conversations and strengthen our community fabric. Thanks for making Santa Cruz Shakespeare part of your summer, and, every day, don’t forget to live your life! Rick Wright Board President Rick Wright President Chris Frost Vice-President Tamara Santos Secretary Owen Brown Treasurer Bill Richter Immediate Past President Margaret Brose Mark Dammann Samantha Forde Julie Fraser Kent Imai Renee Winter Audrey Stanley Board President’s welcome